Enrolments open for Year 7 in 2025

Enrolments open for Kindergarten in 2025

St Aloysius – a place to strive, believe and achieve

We are St Aloysius


Middle Campus

Middle Campus

To assist students as they move into secondary education, St Aloysius Catholic College has implemented Middle Schooling principles for students from Year 5 to 8. A Middle School curriculum is delivered in a manner that engages today's students, including the integration of modern technology in learning. However, the literacy and numeracy needs of Year 5 to 8 students are still central and are explicitly taught. Middle Schooling at St Aloysius is about balancing age appropriate teaching and learning with opportunities for students to grow in their independence and maturity as learners.

Year 5 & 6

To ensure a smooth transition from Year 4, the Year 5/6 learning centre follows many of the learning structures from the Junior Campus. This includes dedicated daily literacy, numuracy and spelling programs using the Soundwaves resource. Year 5/6 students undertake all core subjects; Religious Education, Maths, English, Humantities and Science. Specialist teachers deliver weekly lessons in French and Physical Education and some Arts and Technology subjects.

Year 7 & 8

Middle Schooling also provides for the different pastoral needs of early teenagers. A central pillar of Middle Schooling at St Aloysius is the role of Home Room teachers. In most cases, Year 7 and 8 staff teach their Home Room classes for a number of subjects. This enable teachers to develop a sound understanding of the pastoral and learning needs of the students in their care. Home Room teachers take on the special responsibility of ensuring their students transition smoothly into Year 7. The Home Room teacher is the first point of contact for parents, and effective communication between the College and home is highly valued at St Aloysius Catholic College.

As per the Australian Curriculum guidleines, students in Years 7 and 8 undertake study in the following core learning areas:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities (History, Geography, Civics and Citzenship)
  • Health and Physical Education
  • French

Year 7 and 8 students also study three elective subjects from areas of their own personal interest. As required by the Australian Curriculum, students must study at least one Arts and one Technology subject until the end of Year 8.